Loan scholarship for study at Berkshire Music Center, 1961
University of Illinois Teaching Fellowship, 1961-62
Finalist, Woodrow Wilson Graduate Fellowship, 1959
NIU's Excellence in Undergraduate Education award, 1978
DeKalb (IL) Arts Council nominee for the Governor’s Awards to the Arts,  1981
One of the first eight NIU professors to be designated as a
   Presidential Research Professor, 1982-86
NIU's nominee for the national C.A.S.E. Professor of the Year award, 83, 84, 85, 87
NIU Distinguished University Research Professor, 1986 - present
Elected to membership in A.S.C.A.P. (1975), B.M.I. (1982)
Elected to the Fox Valley Arts Hall of Fame (2004)

                                                                       (return to Home Page)