The 35-minute work is called "Anachronisms," referring to the survival of both the string quartet genre and a classical music station in an increasingly commercial society. It is cast in the sound world of early, pre-serial Schoenberg; i.e., tonality breaking down through extreme chromaticism, but still gravitating toward clear pitch centers. The lyricism of Alban Berg is also evident, as are Bartok-like transformations of folk-like material and the use of pizzicato effects. It is a substantial piece, but it sustains interest and works on its own terms, no small accomplishment. It deserves to be heard well beyond this anniversary.

                                                                    Dennis Polkow, Chicago Tribune

Three movements for violin, viola, and cello (19:00)
Winner, 1957 Broadcast Music Student Composers Competition
Published by Meadow Music
                                                                                     return to Compositions)